Three Sections

 The council is organized in three sections:

  1. The European Section
  2. The North American, Caribbean and Bermuda Section
  3. The Southern Hemisphere, Asia and Far East Section.

The Council is led by a rotating executive group of three representatives (one from each section) and a team of appointed officers in the Secretariat. The Presidency is rotated annually amongst the sections.

A Finance Committee ensures the correctness and the transparency of the financial aspects of the organization.

Board of Directors

President, responsible for the hosting of the Annual General Meeting:

  • Vice President: Previous year’s President
  • Vice President: Forthcoming year’s President

The Board elected at the 2019 Annual General Meeting in Hong Kong is:

  • President:
  • Eamonn O’Reilly, Dublin Port Company, Dublin, Ireland
  • Since summer 2019: Bruno Valkeniers is Acting President, Antwerp, Flanders, Belgium
  • Vice Presidents:
  • Peter Levesque, MTL, Hong Kong
  • Denis Dupuis, Quebec Stevedoring, Quebec, Canada


  • Secretary:
  • Bruno Valkeniers,  Antwerp, Flanders, Belgium
  • Deputy Secretary:
  • Thomas Simmers, New Jersey, USA
  • Treasurer:
  • Frans Baud, IJmuiden, Netherlands

Finance Committee

  • Chairman:
  • Johan Röstin, HH Ferries Group, Helsingborg, Sweden
  • Members:
  • David Kong, Fat Kee Stevedores, Hong Kong
  • Luis Arturo Ayala III,  Luis A Ayala Colon Sucrs. Inc. Puerto Rico